GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MINUTES April 2, 2013

4:30 p.m.

County Square - Conference Room D

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at County Square and posted on the County's web page for all media and concerned citizens to access and review.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

CHAIRMAN BOB TAYLOR
VICE CHAIRMAN WILLIS MEADOWS
JOE DILL
XANTHENE NORRIS
SID CATES
DAN RAWLS

LOTTIE GIBSON JIM BURNS JOE BALDWIN BUTCH KIRVEN FRED PAYNE

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:

LIZ SEMAN

STAFF PRESENT:

JOE KERNELL, County Administrator
MARK TOLLISON, County Attorney
THERESA KIZER, Clerk to Council
REGINA MCCASKILL, Deputy Clerk to Council
BOB MIHALIC, Governmental Relations Officer
SHANNON HERMAN, Assistant to the County Administrator
PAULA GUCKER, Assistant County Administrator, Public Works

OTHERS PRESENT:

NONE

CALL TO ORDER Chairman Bob Taylor

INVOCATION Councilor Fred Payne

Item (3)

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION:

Councilor Norris moved to approve the minutes of the Regular Committee of the Whole meeting of March 19, 2013.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

Item (4) <u>ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION</u>

ACTION: Councilor Burns nominated Councilor Joe Dill to fill the one vacancy.

ACTION: Councilor Meadows moved to close nominations and elect Councilor Joe Dill by acclamation.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

Item (5) BOARD AND COMMISSION NOMINATIONS FROM COMMITTEES

(a) Committee on Finance

1. Arena District Commission

Without objection, Clifton Dyer, Barry Formanack and Dante Russo were forwarded to full County Council for appointment.

2. Greenville Area Development Corporation

Councilor Gibson nominated Mary Ann Pires to serve on the GADC Board.

Councilor Burns nominated Debbie Nelson and Stacy Kuper to serve on the GADC Board.

Councilor Meadows moved to close nominations and forward the names of Mary Ann Pires, Debbie Nelson, Stacy Kuper, Marshall Franklin, Charles Naselli and Thomas Quantrille to County Council for a ballot vote.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(b) Committee on Public Works and Infrastructure

1. Recreation District

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and forward Joel Vanderwood to full Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

2. SCTAC

Councilor Burns moved to close nominations and forward the name of Henry McCullough to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

Item (6) BOARD AND COMMISSION NOMINATIONS FOR SPECIAL TAX DISTRICTS

(a) River Falls Fire District

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the names of Charles Crawford and Terry Hightower to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(b) Tigerville Fire District

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the names of Harvey Bruce and Joe Hayes to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(c) Boiling Springs Fire District

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the names of Cedric Brown and J.R. Christy to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(d) Buxton Tax District Commission

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the name of Christine Robb to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(e) Linkside Special Tax District

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the name of Bill Frady to County Council.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(f) Ashwicke Special Tax District

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the names of David Cook and Charles Kitchens to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(g) Freetown Community Special Tax District

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the name of Joyce Miles to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(h) Sterling Community Tax Commission

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the name of Doris Fleming to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

(i) Canebrake Fire District

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and send the name of Charles Davis to County Council for appointment.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

Item (7) ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE COMMISSION / ADDITIONAL APPLICANTS

Councilor Gibson moved to nominate Simon McClain Jr. and Patricia Thomas to fill the two additional vacancies for the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

Motion carried unanimously by all Council Members present.

Item (8) <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

ACTION: Councilor Meadows moved to adjourn the meeting.

Motion carried and the meeting was adjourned at 4:42 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Theresa B. Kizer, Clerk to Council