

MINUTES GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL

Committee of the Whole

October 6, 2015 5:03 p.m. County Square – Conference Room D

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Mr. Bob Taylor, Chairman Mr. Butch Kirven, Vice Chairman Mr. Joe Dill Mr. Joe Baldwin Mr. Willis Meadows Mr. Sid Cates Mr. Jim Burns Mrs. Xanthene Norris Mrs. Liz Seman Mrs. Lottie Gibson. Mr. Lynn Ballard Mr. Fred Payne

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned Citizens.

COUNCIL MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

None

STAFF PRESENT:

Joe Kernell, County Administrator John Hansley, Deputy County Administrator Mark Tollison, County Attorney Theresa Kizer, Clerk to Council Regina McCaskill, Deputy Clerk to Council Paula Gucker, Assistant County Administrator, Public Works Bob Mihalic, Governmental Relations Officer

OTHERS PRESENT

None

CALL TO ORDER

INVOCATION

Chairman Bob Taylor

Councilor Lynn Ballard

Item (3) <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

(a) August 25, 2015 – Special Called Committee Meeting

Councilor Ballard moved to approve the minutes of the August 25, 2015 Special Called Committee of the Whole Meeting.

Councilor Payne requested the minutes reflect he was out of town on business.

Councilor Gibson moved to amend the minutes to reflect a comment attributed on page 5 to Councilor Baldwin to be attributed to Councilor Ballard.

Motion to amend carried unanimously.

Motion as amended carried unanimously.

(b) September 1, 2015 – Regular Committee Meeting

Councilor Ballard moved to approve the minutes of the September 1, 2015 Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (4) APPALACHIAN COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS (ACOG) / 2015 CEDS UPDATE

2015 Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) Update Presentation

Presented by David Shellhorse Economic Development Services Manager Appalachian Council of Governments

David Shellhorse presented the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) Update for the Appalachian Council of Governments. Mr. Shellhorse stated the yearly update provided an economic profile for the region and each individual county in order to promote economic development and opportunity. The Appalachian Council of Governments requested Greenville County Council accept the 2015 CEDS Update and asked for a letter of support for the plan.

ACTION: Councilor Dill moved to accept the Appalachian Council of Governments 2015 CEDS Update and to direct the Council Chairman to write a letter of support for the plan.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (5) BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS NOMINEES

(a) Committee on Finance

- 1. Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee (5 vacancies)
- ACTION: Councilor Kirven moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation *Penny Cooper, Michael Heater, Joyce McCarrell, and Alan Strozier* to fill four of five vacancies on the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee.

Motion carried unanimously.

(b) Committee on Planning & Development

- 1. Historic Preservation Commission (3 vacancies)
- ACTION: Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation *Collie Breedlove, Ruth Butler, and Lindsey Strand* to fill the three vacancies on the Historic Preservation Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

(c) Committee on Public Safety

- 1. Airport Commission (1 vacancy)
- ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation *James Wall* to fill one vacancy on the Airport Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

2. Airport Environs Planning Commission (2 vacancies)

ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation *Brad Medcalf* to fill one of two vacancies on the Airport Environs Planning Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

- 3. Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission (1 vacancy)
- ACTION: Councilor Meadows moved to add Mr. Earnest to the list of nominees.
- ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and send forward the names of *David Armstrong* and *Mr. Earnest* to full Council for a ballot vote.

Without objection, motion was approved.

(d) Committee on Public Works and Infrastructure

- 1. Library Board of Trustees (7 vacancies)
- **ACTION:** Councilor Baldwin moved to add Tommy Hughes to the list of nominees.
- ACTION: Councilor Payne moved to close nominations and send forward the names of Joseph Allen, Sr., Brian Aufmuth, Laura Baker, Grady Butler, Chace Campbell, S. Allan Hill, Joe Poore, and Tommy Hughes to full Council for a ballot vote.

Without objection, motion was approved.

- 2. Museum Commission (2 vacancies)
- ACTION: Councilor Gibson moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation *Natasha Sexton and Harry Ussery* to fill two vacancies on the Museum Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

3. Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Committee (1 vacancy)

ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to close nominations.

ACTION: Councilor Payne moved to elect by acclamation *Jasper Puckett* to fill one vacancy on the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Committee.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (6) SPECIAL TAX DISTRICT NOMINEES

(a) Devenger Point Special Tax District (3 vacancies)

Councilor Burns nominated *David Hinson, Lee Kazian, and Gail Randall* to fill three vacancies on the Devenger Point Special Tax District.

ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation *David Hinson, Lee Kazian, and Gail Randall* to fill three vacancies on the Devenger Point Special Tax District.

Motion carried unanimously.

- (b) Donaldson Fire Service Area (1 vacancy)
- ACTION: Councilor Gibson moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation *Grant Wooten* to fill one vacancy on the Donaldson Fire Service Area.

Motion carried unanimously.

- (c) Old Mill States Tax District (2 vacancies)
- ACTION: Councilor Cates moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation *Pauline Brown and Raymond Hammond, Sr.* to fill two vacancies on the Old Mill States Tax District.

Motion carried unanimously.

- (d) Sterling Community Tax District (5 vacancies)
- ACTION: Councilor Norris moved to close nominations and send forward the names of **Santos Abrilz**, Vicky Ashley, Henry Black, Martha Black, Tammy Jones, and Dorothy Russell to full Council for a ballot vote.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (7) ADJOURNMENT

ACTION: Councilor Ballard moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:20 p.m.

Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted:

Theresa B. Kizer, Clerk to Council