# MINUTES GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL INSTALLATION MEETING JANUARY 6, 2015 COUNCIL CHAMBERS 6:05 p.m.

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned citizens.

# **COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:**

CHAIRMAN BOB TAYLOR VICE CHAIRMAN WILLIS MEADOWS JOE DILL JOE BALDWIN SID CATES JIM BURNS XANTHENE NORRIS LIZ SEMAN LOTTIE GIBSON LYNN BALLARD BUTCH KIRVEN FRED PAYNE

### COUNCIL MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

NONE

### **STAFF PRESENT**:

JOE KERNELL, COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR MARK TOLLISON, COUNTY ATTORNEY JOHN HANSLEY, DEPUTY COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR PAULA GUCKER, ASSISTANT COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR, PUBLIC WORKS THERESA B. KIZER, CLERK TO COUNCIL REGINA MCCASKILL, DEPUTY CLERK TO COUNCIL BOB MIHALIC, GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS OFFICER SHANNON HERMAN, ASSISTANT TO THE COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR JEFF WILE, ASSISTANT COUNTY ATTORNEY ERIC VINSON, DIRECTOR, PLANNING AND CODE ENFORCEMENT

### **OTHERS PRESENT:**

# JOHN ELDRGIDE, CHIEF DEPUTY, SHERIFF'S OFFICE BEVERLY JAMES, DIRECTOR, GREENVILLE COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM

Greenville County Council Regular Meeting January 6, 2015 Page / 1

## INVOCATION

Item (3)

Jamie Murphy, Pastor Lima Baptist Church

# PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

# Item (4) PRESENTATION OF SERVICE AWARDS

On behalf of County Council, Dr. Taylor presented Councilor Meadows with a plaque in appreciation for his past two years of service as Vice Chairman.

On behalf of County Council, Councilor Meadows presented Dr. Taylor with a plaque in appreciation for his past two years of service as Chairman.

### Item (5) <u>ELECTION OF COUNCIL CHAIRMAN</u>

Councilor Taylor opened the floor for nominations for County Council Chairman.

- ACTION: Councilor Dill nominated Willis Meadows for Chairman.
- ACTION: Councilor Cates nominated Dr. Taylor for Chairman.
- ACTION: Councilor Burns moved to close nominations.

Motion to close nominations carried.

By a vote of five for Mr. Meadows (Baldwin, Meadows, Burns, Gibson, Dill) and seven for Dr. Taylor (Cates, Taylor, Norris, Seman, Ballard, Kirven, Payne), Dr. Taylor was elected County Council Chairman.

### Item (6)

### TRANSFERRING THE GAVEL

(There was no need to transfer the gavel.)

Greenville County Council Regular Meeting January 6, 2015 Page / 2

Item (7)	<b>ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN</b>
	Chairman Taylor opened the floor for nominations for County Council Vice-Chairman.
ACTION:	Councilor Dill nominated Willis Meadows for Vice-Chairman.
ACTION:	Councilor Ballard nominated Butch Kirven for Vice-Chairman.
ACTION:	Councilor Norris nominated Jim Burns for Vice-Chairman.
ACTION:	Councilor Seman moved to close nominations.
	Motion to close nominations carried.
	By a vote of four for Mr. Meadows (Baldwin, Meadows, Cates, Dill), five for Mr. Kirven (Taylor, Seman, Ballard, Kirven, Payne) and three for Mr. Burns (Burns, Norris, Gibson), the two candidates with the highest number of votes moved forward for a second ballot.
	On the second ballot, the vote was tied with six voting for Mr. Meadows (Baldwin, Meadows, Cates, Burns, Gibson, Dill) and six voting for Mr. Kirven (Taylor, Norris, Seman, Ballard, Kirven, Payne).
ACTION:	Councilor Payne moved to allow statements from each of the candidates outlining what they hoped to do as Vice-Chairman.
	Motion carried.
	Councilors Kirven and Meadows took a moment to express their position and what they hoped to accomplish as Vice Chairman for 2015 and 2016.
	On the third ballot, the vote was tied with six voting for Mr. Meadows (Baldwin, Meadows, Cates, Burns, Gibson, Dill) and six voting for Mr. Kirven (Taylor, Norris, Seman, Ballard, Kirven, Payne).
	On the fourth ballot, with five voting for Mr. Meadows (Baldwin, Meadows, Cates, Burns, Dill) and seven voting for Mr. Kirven (Taylor, Norris, Seman, Gibson, Ballard, Kirven, Payne), Mr. Kirven was elected Vice-Chairman of County Council.
Item (8)	<b>ADJOURNMENT</b>
ACTION:	Councilor Gibson moved to adjourn. Motion carried and the meeting was adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Theresa Kizer, Clerk to Council

Greenville County Council Regular Meeting January 6, 2015 Page | 4