MINUTES COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY AND HUMAN SERVICES September 18, 2017 5:00 P.M. CONFERENCE ROOM D - COUNTY SQUARE

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the entrance of the Council Office and mailed to the newspapers, radio stations and television stations.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chairman Rick Roberts Vice Chairman Xanthene Norris (5:31 pm) Councilor Mike Barnes Councilor Fred Payne Councilor Bob Taylor

COMMITTEE MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Jeffrey D. Wile, Assistant County Attorney Ronald Hollister, Deputy Director Debbie Templeton, Administrative Coordinator Helen E. Wood, Clerk to Public Safety Committee

OTHERS PRESENT:

Anne Clapper (D-27) – Airport Commission
Stanley Mayes (D-26) – Airport Commission
Walter Easterling (D-20) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Roy Earnest (D-19) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Jondia Berry (D-24) – Metropolitan Sewer Commission
Kevin Bentley (D-27) – Metropolitan Sewer Commission
Henry Davis (D-28) – Metropolitan Sewer Commission
Evan Ruggiero (D-21) – Metropolitan Sewer Commission

CALL TO ORDER:

Rick Roberts

Chairman

INVOCATION:

Bob Taylor

Councilor

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION: Councilor Fred Payne moved to approve the minutes of the Committee on Public Safety and Human Services' meeting of July 17, 2017. Motion carried unanimously by all Council members present.

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Airport Commission (1 vacancy) Anne Clapper (D27) - Incumbent Stanley Mayes (D26) – New

ACTION: Councilor Bob Taylor forwarded the nomination of Stanley Mayes to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one vacancy on the Airport Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

Airport Environs Planning Commission (2 vacancies)
Brad Medcalf (D21) – Incumbent
Van Swofford (D18) - Incumbent

ACTION: Councilor Bob Taylor forwarded the nomination of Van Swofford and Brad Medcalf to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the two vacancies on the Airport Environs Planning Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

Greater Greenville Sanitation District (1 vacancy) Roy Earnest (D19) – New Walter Easterling (D20) - Incumbent

ACTION: Councilor Bob Taylor forwarded the nomination of Roy Earnest to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one vacancy on the Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

Metropolitan Sewer Sub-District (1 vacancy) Kevin Bentley (D27) – New Jondia Berry (D24) - New Henry Davis (D-28) – New Evan Ruggiero (D-21) - New

ACTION: Councilor Bob Taylor forwarded the nomination of Henry Davis to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one vacancy on the Metropolitan Sewer Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

ADJOURNMENT

ACTION: Councilor Fred Payne moved to adjourn the meeting of the Committee on Public Safety and Human Services. Without objection, the meeting adjourned at 5:51 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Debra S. Templeton, Administrative Coordinator