

GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes

Committee of the Whole

March 20, 2018 4:36 p.m. County Square – Conference Room D

Council Members

Mr. Butch Kirven, Chairman
Mr. Willis Meadows, Vice Chairman
Mrs. Xanthene Norris, Chairman Pro Tem
Mr. Joe Dill
Mr. Mike Barnes
Mr. Sid Cates
Mr. Rick Roberts
Mr. Bob Taylor
Mrs. Liz Seman
Mr. Ennis Fant, Sr.
Mr. Lynn Ballard

Mr. Fred Payne

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned Citizens.

COUNCIL MEMBERS ABSENT

Joe Dill, District 17

STAFF PRESENT

Joe Kernell, County Administrator
Mark Tollison, County Attorney
John Hansley, Deputy County Administrator
Regina McCaskill, Clerk to Council
Jessica Stone, Deputy Clerk to Council
Bob Mihalic, Governmental Relations Officer
Paula Gucker, Assistant County Administrator, Public Works

OTHERS PRESENT

CALL TO ORDER Chairman Butch Kirven

<u>INVOCATION</u> Councilor Ennis Fant, Sr.

Item (3) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to approve the minutes of the March 6, 2018, Regular Committee of the Whole meeting.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (4) BOARD AND COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

(a) Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission (4 vacancies)

The following individuals appeared before the Committee of the Whole and gave their personal presentations:

Jane **Daniel** - District 21 1. Karen **McManaway** District 18 2. Audrey **Pasin** District 20 2. Weesie **Poole** District 26 5. Brittany **Whitley** District 25 Ralph Williams District 22

ACTION:

By ballot vote, Jane Daniel, Karen McManaway, Audrey Pasin and Weesie Poole were elected to fill four vacancies on the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

(b) Greenville County Redevelopment Authority (2 vacancies)

The following individuals appeared before the Committee of the Whole and gave their personal presentations:

Mack Lockhart - District 25
 Lawson Wetli - District 20

ACTION:

Councilor Norris moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Mack Lockhart and Lawson Wetli to fill two vacancies on the Greenville County Redevelopment Authority.

Motion carried unanimously by Council Members present.

(c) Planning Commission (3 vacancies)

The following individuals appeared before the Committee of the Whole and gave their personal presentations:

Metz Looper - District 19
 Berry Ponder - District 27
 Milton Shockley - District 21

ACTION:

By ballot vote, Metz Looper, Jay Rogers and Milton Shockley were elected to fill three vacancies on the Planning Commission.

(d) Greenville Area Development Corporation / GADC (Council Member Seat)

ACTION: Councilor Ballard nominated Councilor Ennis Fant.

ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclimation Councilor Ennis

Fant to fill the Council Seat on the Greenville Area Development Corporation.

Motion carried unanimously by Council Members present.

(e) South Carolina Technology and Aviation Center / SCTAC (Council Member Seat)

ACTION: Councilor Taylor nominated Councilor Liz Seman.

ACTION: Councilor Payne moved to close nominations and elect by acclimation Councilor Liz Seman

to fill the Council Seat on the South Carolina Technology and Aviation Center Board.

Motion carried unanimously by Council Members present.

Item (5) Resolution – Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF) Grant for Shelter Improvements

ACTION: Councilor Seman moved to adopt

a resolution to commit County funds to match a Land and Water Conservation Fund Grant from the National Park Service, United States Department of the Interior to Greenville County Parks, Recreation and Tourism, a department of the County of Greenville, South Carolina.

Motion carried unanimously by Council Members present.

Item (6) ADJOURNMENT

ACTION: Councilor Norris moved to adjourn.

Motion carried unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 5:17 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Regina G. McCaskill, Clerk to Council