

GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes

Committee of the Whole

October 2, 2018 5:15 p.m. County Square - Council Chambers

Council Members

Mr. Butch Kirven, Chairman Mr. Willis Meadows, Vice Chairman Mrs. Xanthene Norris, Chairman Pro Tem Mr. Joe Dill Mr. Mike Barnes Mr. Sid Cates Mr. Rick Roberts Mr. Bob Taylor Mrs. Liz Seman Mr. Ennis Fant, Sr. Mr. Lynn Ballard Mr. Fred Payne

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned Citizens.

Council Members Absent

None

Staff Present

Joe Kernell, County Administrator Mark Tollison, County Attorney John Hansley, Deputy County Administrator Regina McCaskill, Clerk to Council Paula Gucker, Assistant County Administrator, Public Works Bob Mihalic, Governmental Relations Officer Terry Abrahams, Zoning Department

Others Present

None

Chairman Kirven Call to Order

Councilor Xanthene Norris **Invocation**

Committee of the Whole Page 1 of 5

Item (3) Approval of Minutes

ACTION:

Councilor Payne moved to approve the minutes of the October 18, 2018, Committee of the Whole Meeting.

Motion was carried unanimously by Council Members present.

Item (4) <u>Board and Commission – Interviews and Elections</u>

a. Finance Committee

1. Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee (1 vacancy)

Councilor Taylor presented the name of B.J. Koonce to fill one vacancy on the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect B.J. Koonce to fill one vacancy on the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee and to forward the name to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

b. Planning and Development Committee

1. Board of Zoning Appeals (1 vacancy)

Councilor Ballard presented the name of Brittany Farrar to fill one vacancy on the Board of Zoning appeals.

ACTION:

Councilor Fant moved to add Hao Wu to the list of nominees.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and send forward the names of Brittany Farrar and Hoa Wu to full County Council for a ballot vote on October 16, 2018.

Motion carried unanimously.

2. Construction Board of Appeals (2 vacancies)

Councilor Ballard presented the names of Bryan Malone and Peter Nomikos to fill two vacancies on the Construction Board of Appeals.

ACTION:

Councilor Taylor moved to close nominations and elect Bryan Malone and Peter Nomikos to fill two vacancies on the Construction Board of Appeals and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

3. Historic Preservation Commission (2 vacancies)

Councilor Ballard presented the names of Lindsey Strand and Al Wills to fill two vacancies on the Historic Preservation Commission.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect Lindsey Strand and Al Wills to fill two vacancies on the Historic Preservation Commission and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

c. Public Safety and Human Services Committee

1. Airport Commission (1 vacancy)

Councilor Roberts presented the name of John Davis to fill one vacancy on the Airport Commission.

ACTION:

Councilor Meadows moved to add James Wall to the list of nominees.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and send forward the names of John Davis and James Wall to full County Council for a ballot vote on October 16, 2018.

Motion carried unanimously.

2. Greater Greenville Sanitation District (1 vacancy)

Councilor Roberts presented the name of Michael Porter to fill one vacancy on the Greater Greenville Sanitation District.

ACTION:

Councilor Fant moved to add Bruce Wilson to the list on nominees.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and send forward the names of Michael Porter and Bruce Wilson to full County Council for a ballot vote on October 16, 2018.

Motion carried unanimously.

3. Metropolitan Sewer Subdistrict (3 vacancies)

Councilor Roberts presented the names of James Freeland, Edmund Gregorie and Jondia Berry to fill three vacancies on the Metropolitan Sewer Subdistrict.

ACTION:

Councilor Dill moved to close nominations and elect James Freeland, Edmund Gregorie and Jondia Berry to fill three vacancies on the Metropolitan Sewer Subdistrict and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

d. Public Works and Infrastructure Committee

1. Museum Commission (2 vacancies)

Councilor Seman presented the names of Natasha Sexton and Harry Ussery to fill two vacancies on the Museum Commission.

ACTION:

Councilor Payne moved to close nominations and elect Natasha Sexton and Harry Ussery to fill two vacancies on the Museum Commission and to forward the names to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

2. Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Board (1 vacancy)

Councilor Seman presented the name of Jasper Puckett to fill one vacancy on the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Board.

ACTION:

Councilor Payne moved to close nominations and elect Jasper Puckett to fill one vacancy on the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Board and to forward the name to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (5) Special Tax Districts - Nominations / Appointments

a. Old Mill Estates Tax District (3 vacancies)

ACTION:

Councilor Cates moved to close nominations and elect Pauline Brown, Sandra Fraser and Raymond Hammond to fill three vacancies on the Old Mill Estates Tax District and to move the names forward to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

b. Devenger Tax District (2 vacancies)

Councilor Roberts presented the name of Ralph Porter to fill one of two vacancies on the Devenger Tax District.

ACTION:

Councilor Cates moved to close nominations and elect Ralph Porter to fill one of two vacancies on the Devenger Tax District.

Motion carried unanimously.

c. Devenger Point Special Tax District (2 vacancies)

Councilor Roberts presented the names of William Hayes and Gail Randall to fill two vacancies on the Devenger Point Special Tax District.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect William Hayes and Gail Randall to fill two vacancies on the Devenger Point Special Tax District and to send the names forward to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

d. Lake Forest Special Tax District (1 vacancy)

Councilor Taylor presented the name of Megan McCarter to fill one vacancy on the Lake Forest Special Tax District.

ACTION:

Councilor Norris moved to close nominations and elect Megan McCarter to fill one vacancy on the Lake Forest Special Tax District and to send the name forward to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

e. Sterling Community Special Tax District (5 vacancies)

Councilor Norris presented the names of Vicky Ashley, Martha Black, Doris Fleming and Angelica Sligh to fill four of five vacancies on the Sterling Community Special Tax District.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect Vicky Ashley, Martha Black, Doris Fleming and Angelica Sligh to fill four of five vacancies on the Sterling Community Special Tax District and to send the names forward to full Council.

Motion carried unanimously.

f. Donaldson Fire Service Area Commission (2 vacancies)

Councilor Fant presented the names of Charles Holland and Grant Wooten to fill two vacancies on the Donaldson Fire Service Area.

ACTION:

Councilor Seman moved to close nominations and elect Charles Holland and Grant Wooten to fill two vacancies on the Donaldson Fire Service Area.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (6) Adjournment

ACTION: Councilor Taylor moved to adjourn the meeting.

Motion carried unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 5:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Regina G. McCaskill, Clerk to Council