MINUTES COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY AND HUMAN SERVICES September 10, 2018 3:30 P.M. CONFERENCE ROOM D - COUNTY SQUARE

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the entrance of the Council Office and mailed to the newspapers, radio stations and television stations.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chairman Rick Roberts
Vice Chairman Xanthene Norris
Councilor Mike Barnes
Councilor Fred Payne
Councilor Bob Taylor

COMMITTEE MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Jeffrey D. Wile, Assistant County Attorney John Vandermosten, Assistant County Administrator Helen E. Wood, Clerk to Public Safety Committee Debbie Templeton, Administrative Coordinator

OTHERS PRESENT:

James Wall (D-22) – Airport Commission
John Davis (D-27) – Airport Commission
Linda Archer (D-24) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Kathleen Brady (D-22) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Deanna Damato (D-19) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Steven Meyers (D-25) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
M. Scott Porter (D-23) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Bruce Wilson (D-25) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Bruce Wilson (D-17) Metropolitan Sewer Commission
James Freeland (D-17) Metropolitan Sewer Commission
Jondia Berry (D-24) – Metropolitan Sewer Commission
Darath Mackie (D-25) – Metropolitan Sewer Commission

CALL TO ORDER: Rick Roberts
Chairman

INVOCATION: Xantene Norris
Vice Chairman

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION: Councilor Bob Taylor moved to approve the minutes of the Committee on Public Safety and Human Services' meeting of April 9, 2018. Motion carried unanimously by all Council members present.

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Airport Commission (1 vacancy) James Wall (D22) – Incumbent John Davis (D27) – New

ACTION: Councilor Bob Taylor forwarded the nomination of John Davis to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one vacancy on the Airport Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

Greater Greenville Sanitation District (1 vacancy)
Linda Archer (D-24) – New
Kathleen Brady (D-22) – New
Deanna Damato (D-19) – New
Steven Meyers (D-25) – New
M. Scott Porter (D-23) – New
Bruce Wilson (D-25) – New

ACTION: Councilor Fred Payne forwarded the nomination of M. Scott Porter to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one vacancy on the Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

Metropolitan Sewer Sub-District (3 vacancies)
James Freeland (D-17) – Incumbent
Edmund "Jim" Gregorie (D-31) – Incumbent
Jondia Berry (D-24) – New
Darath Mackie (D-25) – New

ACTION: Councilor Bob Taylor forwarded the nomination of James Freeland, Edmund Gregorie, and Jondia Berry to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the three vacancies on the Metropolitan Sewer Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

ADJOURNMENT

ACTION: Chairman Rick Roberts moved to adjourn the meeting of the Committee on Public Safety and Human Services. Without objection, the meeting adjourned at 4:31 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Debra S. Templeton, Administrative Coordinator