

# **GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL**

Minutes Committee of the Whole September 1, 2020 4:00 p.m.

County offices closed for public meetings Meeting conducted by remote participation

#### **Council Members present by remote participation**

Mr. Butch Kirven, Chairman Mr. Willis Meadows, Vice Chairman Mrs. Xanthene Norris, Chairman Pro Tem Mr. Joe Dill Mr. Mike Barnes Mr. Sid Cates Mr. Rick Roberts Mr. Bob Taylor Mrs. Liz Seman Mr. Ennis Fant, Sr. Mr. Lynn Ballard Mr. Dan Tripp

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at County Square and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned citizens.

# **Council Members Absent**

Mike Barnes, District 18 Sid Cates, District 20 Rick Roberts, District 21

#### **Staff Present**

Joe Kernell, County Administrator Mark Tollison, County Attorney Kim Wunder, Assistant County Attorney John Hansley, Deputy County Administrator Regina McCaskill, Clerk to Council Jessica Stone, Deputy Clerk to Council Pam Gilliam, Administrative Assistant, Council Office Paula Gucker, Assistant County Administrator, Public Works Meredith Papapieris, Director, CARES Program

#### **Others Present**

None

**Call to Order** 

# Invocation

Chairman Kirven

Councilor Lynn Ballard

### Item (3) Approval of Minutes

*Action:* Councilor Tripp moved to approve the minutes of the July 21, 2020, Regular Committee of the Whole Meeting.

Motion carried unanimously.

#### Item (4) <u>Greenville County Code Amendment / Hours of Fireworks Discharge</u>

Councilor Seman stated the proposed ordinance was very straightforward. She, along with Mr. Fant and other Council Members, had received a number of citizen complaints about fireworks recently, especially around July 4<sup>th</sup>, which could be attributed to the fact that many area fireworks events were cancelled. The ordinance was citizen-complaint driven; it was certainly enforceable and not unreasonable in terms of the hours in which fireworks would be permissible.

Councilor Fant stated the ordinance was certainly citizen-complaint driven. After consulting with the County Attorney's office and learning that other Council Members had received the same types of complaints, it was obvious there was a problem. Mr. Fant urged his colleagues to support the proposed ordinance.

Chairman Kirven stated he was pleased the proposed ordinance allowed extended hours for the July 4<sup>th</sup> holiday as well as New Year's Eve.

Councilor Tripp requested a brief outline of the specifics of the ordinance.

Councilor Seman stated the proposed ordinance would prohibit the discharge of fireworks between the hours of 11:00 p.m. until 10:00 a.m.; on July 4<sup>th</sup> and New Year's Day, fireworks would be permitted between the hours of 10:00 a.m. until 1:00 a.m. the following morning. The penalty for violating the ordinance was \$100 per occurrence. While the Sheriff's Office would not specifically patrol for violators, they would respond to calls.

Councilor Tripp inquired if the Sheriff's Office, along with the local municipalities, would be responsible for responding to calls.

Mark Tollison stated only the Sheriff's Office would be responsible for responding to calls, at this point.

Action: Councilor Seman moved for approval an ordinance to amend the County Code at Chapter 15: Offenses and Miscellaneous Provisions, to add Article VII, Fireworks.

Motion carried unanimously by Council Members present.

# Item (5) Board and Commission Appointments

*Action:* Vice-Chairman Meadows moved to close nominations and move the results of their ballot votes to full Council:

(Ballot Results are as follows:)

#### a. Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission – Stacey Owens

- **b.** Board of Tax Assessment and Appeals Veronica Knack
- c. Greenville County Redevelopment Authority Lawrence Black, Barry Coleman, David Doser and Melody Harris
- **d.** Human Relations Commission Dorothy Baumwaft, Nono Henderson, Nyroba Leamon and Jamika Nedwards
- e. Thrive Upstate James Baucom, Paul Hamberis, Ben Mebane and Joseph Nixon

Chairman Kirven stated the candidates moving forward to full Council were chosen by ballot vote, prior to the meeting.

# Item (6) Adjournment

Action: Vice-Chairman Meadows moved to adjourn the meeting.

Motion carried unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 4:08 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted:

Regina G. McCaskill Clerk to Council