MINUTES COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY AND HUMAN SERVICES September 9, 2019 3:30 P.M. CONFERENCE ROOM D - COUNTY SQUARE

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the entrance of the Council Office and mailed to the newspapers, radio stations and television stations.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chairman Rick Roberts Vice Chairman Lynn Ballard Councilor Mike Barnes Councilor Willis Meadows (3:56pm)

COMMITTEE MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

Councilor Xanthene Norris

STAFF PRESENT:

John Vandermosten, Assistant County Administrator Jeffrey D. Wile, Assistant County Attorney Helen E. Wood, Clerk to Public Safety Committee Debbie Templeton, Administrative Coordinator

OTHERS PRESENT:

CALL TO OBDER.

Jay Marett, Interim Director
Kathleen Brady (D22) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Cristel Brown (D23) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Thomas Gilstraps (D19) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Sharon LaMotte (D23) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission
Kenneth Ledford (D24) – Greater Greenville Sanitation Commission

CALL TO ORDER.	Chairman
INVOCATION:	Lynn Ballard Vice Chairman

Diale Dale anta

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ACTION: Councilor Mike Barnes moved to approve the minutes of the Committee on Public Safety and Human Services' meeting of May 13, 2019. Motion carried unanimously by all Council members present.

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Airport Environs Planning Commission (2 vacancies) Brad Medcalf (D21) – Incumbent Van Swafford (D18) - Incumbent

ACTION: Councilor Mike Barnes forwarded the nominations of Brad Medcalf and Van Swafford to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the two vacancies on the Airport Environs Planning Commission. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

> Greater Greenville Sanitation District (1 vacancy) Kathleen Brady (D22) - new Cristel Brown (D23) – new Thomas Gilstrap (D19) – former member Sharon LaMotte (D23) – new Kenneth Ledford (D24) – incumbent

ACTION: Councilor Mike Barnes forwarded the nomination of Kenneth Ledford to the Committee of the Whole for approval to fill the one vacancy on the Greater Greenville Sanitation District Board. Motion carried unanimously by all council members present.

UPDATE ON EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

Mr. Jay Marett, Interim Director of Greenville County Emergency Management, presented the committee an overview of Emergency Management. It included a description of Emergency Management and an update on the Emergency Operations Plan and its purpose. (Power Point presentation "Greenville County Emergency Management - Emergency Operations Plan" attached.

ADJOURNMENT

ACTION:	Vice Chairman Ly	nn Ballard moved to adjourn the meeting of the Committee o	n Public
Safety and	Human Services.	Without objection, the meeting adjourned at 4:31 p.m.	

ACTION: Vice Chairman Lynn Ballard moved to adjourn the meeting of the Committee on Safety and Human Services. Without objection, the meeting adjourned at 4:31 p.m.	F
Respectfully submitted,	
Debra S. Templeton, Administrative Coordinator	