# COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY AND HUMAN SERVICES Minutes February 1, 2021 4:00 P.M.

# County Square – Conference Room D with Limited Seating Remote Participation by Council Members

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted on the bulletin board at the entrance of the Council Office and mailed to the newspapers, radio stations and television stations.

## Committee Members Present:

Mike Barnes, Chairman Steve Shaw, Vice Chairman Chris Harrison Stan Tzouvelekas

#### **Committee Members Absent:**

None

#### Staff Present:

John Vandermosten, Assistant County Administrator Public Safety Jeffrey D. Wile, Assistant County Attorney Helen E. Wood, Clerk to Public Safety Committee Debbie Templeton – Administrative Coordinator

## Others Present:

Tom Blackwell, Executive Director, Emergency Medical Services
Hobart Lewis, Sheriff, Greenville County
Jay Marett, Director, Emergency Management
Mark Tollison – County Attorney
Shannon Herman, Assistant County Administrator Strategic Advancement
Willis Meadows, Chairman, Greenville County Council
Joe Dill, Councilman, Greenville County Council
Lynn Ballard, Councilman, Greenville County Council

Call to Order: Chairman Barnes

Invocation: Councilor Harrison

#### **Approval of Minutes:**

**Action:** Counselor Harrison moved to approve the minutes of the December 14, 2020, Special Called Committee Meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Chairman Barnes introduced the Committee members and announced that Councilor Steve Shaw would be Vice Chairman of the Public Safety and Human Resources Committee.

Greenville County Council
PSHS Committee – Regular Committee Meeting

Chairman Barnes recognized the following:

Sheriff Hobart Lewis, Greenville County. Sheriff Lewis stated that he looked forward to working with the Committee and the needs of the Sheriff Office in the future.

Dr. Tom Blackwell, Executive Director of Emergency Medical Services. Dr. Blackwell stated that he was looking forward to a great year and the opportunity to work with the Committee on EMS' future endeavors with the county.

Mr. Marett, Director of Emergency Management. Mr. Marett also reiterated the opportunity to work with the Committee in the future and the new dispatch facility project. Currently the office of Emergency Management is located in the basement of City Hall.

# Adjournment:

ACTION: Councilor Tzouvelekas moved to adjourn the meeting.

Motion carried unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Helen E. Wood, Clerk to Public Safety Committee