

GREENVILLE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes Committee of the Whole Meeting May 7, 2024 5:01 p.m.

> Council Chambers 301 University Ridge Greenville, South Carolina

Council Members Mr. Dan Tripp, Chairman, District 28 Mrs. Liz Seman, Vice-Chairwoman, District 24 Mr. Butch Kirven, Chairman Pro Tem, District 27 Mr. Joey Russo, District 17 Mr. Mike Barnes, District 18 Mr. Benton Blount, District 19 Mr. Stephen Shaw, District 20 Mr. Chris Harrison, District 21 Mr. Stan Tzouvelekas, District 22 Mr. Alan Mitchell, District 23 Mr. Ennis Fant, Sr., District 25 Mr. Rick Bradley, District 26

Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting date, time, place and agenda was posted online, at 301 University Ridge, Greenville, and made available to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned citizens.

None

Council Members Absent

Council Members Remote Participation

None

Staff Present

Joe Kernell, County Administrator Mark Tollison, County Attorney Kim Wunder, Assistant County Attorney Andrew Price, Assistant County Attorney Regina McCaskill, Clerk to Council

Others Present

None

Call to Order

<u>Invocation</u>

Jessica Stone, Deputy Clerk to Council Pam Gilliam, Administrative Assistant Clerk to Council Terrance Galloway, Information Systems Ricarte Valdez, Information Systems Ted Lambrecht, Director, Greenville County Parks, Recreation and Tourism

Chairman Dan Tripp

Councilor Chris Harrison

Item (3) <u>Approval of Minutes</u>

- a. April 16, 2024 Regular Committee Meeting
- b. April 29, 2024 Special Called Committee Meeting
- c. April 30, 2024 Special Called Committee Meeting
- Action: Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to approve the minutes of the April 16, 2024, Regular Committee, the April 29, 2024, Special Called Committee Meeting and the April 30, 2024, Special Called Committee Meeting.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (4) Open Special Application Period for Certain Boards Due to Quorum Issues

- Action: Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to open a special application period for the following boards: Ashwicke Special Tax District, Devenger Tax District, Lake Forest Special Tax District, Sterling Community Special Tax District, and the Board of Zoning Appeals; and hold the appointment of members to each of those boards until after the special application period so that Council may consider all the applicants at the same time.
- Action: Chairman Pro Tem Kirven moved to amend the motion to include the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee, for small and large hotel representatives only; the Greenville County Historic and Natural Resources Trust, for District 28 representatives only; and the Greenville Area Development Corporation, as each of those three boards had some very specific housekeeping issues that needed to be addressed.

Motion to amend carried unanimously.

Motion as amended carried unanimously.

Item (5) Suspend Meeting Attendance Rule for Special Application Period

Action: Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to waive the meeting attendance requirement for those boards requiring a special application period due to the timing of their meetings.

Motion carried unanimously.

- Item (6) <u>Greenville Area Development Corporation (GADC) / Council Member Seat Appointment</u>
- Action: Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to nominate Mr. Kirven to fill the County Council member seat on the Greenville Area Development Corporation.

Motion carried unanimously.

- Item (7) South Carolina Technology and Aviation Center (SCTAC) / Council Member Seat Appointment
- Action: Chairman Pro Tem Kirven moved to nominate Mr. Fant to fill the County Council member seat on the South Carolina Technology and Aviation Center Board.

Motion carried unanimously.

Item (8) Board and Commission Appointments

a. Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission (4 vacancies)

Action: Chairman Pro Tem Kirven moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Lynne Jones, Louise Poole and Scott Robinson to fill three of four vacancies on the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

- **b.** Arena District (4 vacancies)
- Action:Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Amber Drummond,
Brittany Moore and Neil Smith to fill three of four vacancies on the Arena District Board.

Motion carried unanimously.

c. Boiling Springs Fire District (2 vacancies)

Action: Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Tonja Faulkenberry and William McDowell, Jr. to fill two vacancies on the Boiling Springs Fire District.

Motion carried unanimously.

d. Freetown Special Tax District Commission (2 vacancies)

Action: Councilor Mitchell moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Peggy Adams-Robinson and Joyce Miles to fill two vacancies on the Freetown Special Tax District Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

e. Greater Greenville Sanitation District (1 vacancy)

Action: By ballot vote, Toni Crouch was elected to fill one vacancy on the Greater Greenville Sanitation District.

Motion carried unanimously.

- f. Greenlink (GTA) (1 vacancy)
- Action: Councilor Mitchell moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation David Mitchell to fill one vacancy on the Greenlink Board.

Motion carried unanimously.

g. Greenville Area Development Authority (3 vacancies)

Per the action of Item 4 above, this application was held.

h. Greenville Technical College Area Commission (2 vacancies)

Action:Chairman Pro Tem Kirven moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Hunter Howard and
David Stafford to fill two vacancies on the Greenville Technical College Area Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

i. Historic and Natural Resources Trust (6 vacancies)

Action: Chairman Pro Tem Kirven moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Kenneth Baxter, Dennis DeFrancisco, Doug Harper, Samuel Harrison and Anne King to fill five of six vacancies on the Historic and Natural Resources Trust. A special application period was to be opened for District 28 representatives only.

Motion carried unanimously.

j. Historic Preservation Commission (1 vacancy)

Action: Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Judith Tanzola to fill one vacancy on the Historic Preservation Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

k. Human Relations Commission (2 vacancies)

Action: Councilor Bradley moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Rahchel Forrest-Rice and Joseph Lyle to fill two vacancies on the Human Relations Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

I. Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory (3 vacancies)

Action: Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation Kris Cassell, Marli Propst and Jasper Puckett to fill three vacancies on the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Advisory Board.

Motion carried unanimously.

m. Planning Commission (4 vacancies)

Action: By ballot vote, A. Denise Franklin, John Holland, Deborah Manning and Jonelle Phillips were elected to fill four vacancies on the Planning Commission.

Motion carried unanimously.

n. Zoning Board of Appeals (6 vacancies)

Per the action of Item 4 above, this application was held.

Item (9) <u>Adjournment</u>

Action: Vice-Chairwoman Seman moved to adjourn the meeting.

Motion carried unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 5:19 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Regina G. McCaskill Clerk to Council